What is the purpose of /etc/fstab on OpenWrt?

I don't see /etc/fstab mentioned anywhere in the documentations. By default it is empty, and the documentations always discuss the usage of block command and its configuration file /etc/config/fstab instead.

Nonetheless, manually invoking the command mount -a do work, and it mounts all entries in /etc/fstab. But the filesystem must be identified by name /dev/sdX (UUID does not work), for example:

/dev/sda /mnt/mount_point btrfs subvol=/,autodefrag 0 0

Is there any use of the file /etc/fstab in OpenWrt? Why does it not accept UUID? How does it interact with fstab subsystem of uci? And which one takes precedence on boot?

/etc/config/fstab

I'm not a OpenWrt developer nor an expert so I don't have answers to your specific questions.

As for choosing a filesystem to mount by UUID, that is available with the uci way but note that the UUID is of the filesystem and not the containing partition UUID. blkid is useful to see the UUIDs and some other info.
OpenWrt Fstab Configuration which you may have already looked at has more info and links to further details.