WDR3500 reset button with OpenWrt

1st let me apologize "complete newb here" .... well not complete I guess I have installed and reinstalled firmware and reset to default many times as well as recovered my tplink wdr3500 to original factory defaults so familiar in some ways but not others. Also if I am posting in the wrong section with this question I also apologize let me know please.

I installed the firmware with ease. I have a:

TP-Link TL-WDR3500

downloaded from https://openwrt.org/toh/tp-link/tl-wdr3500

at the bottom of the login page at 192.168.1.1 is states:
Powered by LuCI openwrt-18.06 branch (git-18.228.31946-f64b152) / OpenWrt 18.06.1 r7258-5eb055306f

Configured the router as I wanted it username/password/wifi/ settings etc., but I have since changed some hardware connected and wanted to do a reset of the firmware so I could change passwords and add mac addresses and I have found the reset button does not function.

I am presuming that it was not configured into the build. Is there anyway for me to be able to enter any kind of recovery mode or another way to reset the router back to default? Am I able to load any recovery through the usb port or is this not functioning either?

I am confused and at a lost.

If I could ask you for any assistance with this matter as I am not in a position to purchase a new router and was very much looking forward to using this build.

Thank you in advance if you can assist me.

https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/troubleshooting/failsafe_and_factory_reset

Hello,

Thank you for the link. I have went through the entire page and nothing seems to work for me.

I am on Linux mint 18.3 Kde and I can't seem to get any terminal commands to work.

Further more all the work arounds seem to be using the 'reset' button on the back of the router.
As I mentioned I don't believe it is working or been excluded in the build as it does not work. I have tryed powering off hold reset power on.
I have attempted every recovery etc.