Wavlink Quantum Dax (‎WL-WN538A8) W-K3_386.9_0_cfe.trx firmware

Hi everyone, I am new in this topic and I am the owner of a Wavlink Quantum Dax (‎WL-WN538A8) router, based on Phicomm K3. The signal device is instable, often the networks drop or disappear (2.4/5Ghz or both) and reset the device does not have any effect on it. I found a Merlin Open WRT firmware (W-K3_386.9_0_cfe.trx) available on chinese forums. I know that I need a Minicom terminal and a TTL to USB interface to flash my device with a *.trx firmware but I do not know exactly which are the steps I have to follow and I do not want to brick the router. Internet is plenty of information but sometimes too much information result a bit confusing, expecially for newbies. Do you have a step by step tutorial (For dummies) that explains how to flash this router? Thank you very much in advance. Kind Regards

1 Like

Guess you should replace the Openwrt firmware with the file you've got.

Hi, do you need both programs, the TFTP server and Minicom?

Setup tftp Server

• Start dnsmasq tftp server:
    • sudo dnsmasq –port=0 –enable-tftp –tftp-root=/tmp/tftp –tftp-no-blocksize –user=root –group=root

Setup minicom:

• Install minicom tool:
    • sudo apt install minicom

Yes, if you're doing it from Linux.

If windows, tftpd64 and putty will work.

1 Like

Hi, any idea how to open it? I saw many fotos but no way to open one side without breaking the plastic clips

Tried the wiki page ?

1 Like

There is nothing, only photos. However, Finally, I was able to open it but some clips broke :slightly_smiling_face: I have the TTL to USB converter. Should the motherboard be connected to the power when connected to this converter? Thanks

Ok ...

connect the serial, switch on the device.
don't connect the voltage pin of the serial.

1 Like

Hi, Iwas talking about the same photos you uploaded. However, no one explain how to open the case without breaking plastic clips.

connect the serial, switch on the device.