Want help with these Router&Access point!

Hello, before I start thanks for this awesome project I really like it and it's so good. I want to buy a router and an access point, but I don't know if they are compatible or not, I want your advice about which version of OpenWrt should I use on the router if it is working on it, and the access point should I download anything, or it's just plug and play. Sorry, I'm new in this, so I hope somebody can help me in it! What do you think about these 2 devices any recommendations or advice, your opinion would be very helpful to me! I want to use them for internet. Protocol is PPPoE. If you could explain in details, that would be great!

The computer will work, the AX3000 will however not be supported, because of the Broadcom chipset it uses

1 Like

I think that might depend on which AX3000 it is - there are a couple of TP-Link routers with that desig. Both the AX50 and AX55 are also known as AX3000. The AX55 is Broadcom, but the AX50 is Lantiq, and might (?) work.

"No, because of Broadcom" seems to be the answer to 1/3 of the new threads here. Maybe we should make a sticky post "Don't buy Broadcom, and don't come crying, if you already did. Better sell/return it, and check the HWDB first next time"

Been there, done that https://openwrt.org/meta/infobox/broadcom_wifi.

2 Likes

I know how to find that page, but a new user like the above does not see that info until someone posts a link to it in a reply.

It should be a StickyPost at the top, imho. And/or be shown in a pop-up, if a newish user types "broadcom" in their post: "Attention: Working on/with a broadcom device will likely be POINTLESS".

Realistically speaking, even if you make it 72pt., red, marquee/ blink and play a red-alert audio snippet before the user can register/ login, what are the chances that it will be read/ understood?