VPN not working after OpenWRT flash

Hello there! Please help me before I lose my mind. I'm seriously out of my depth!

I flashed my router with OpenWRT, I get twice the range, stability, and speed - great, as I depend on it for work!
But... my VPN stopped working properly (server is OpenVPN). I see the client connecting, but the APIs I'm trying to use just give me ERR_NAME_NOT_RESOLVED. That's on both Wi-Fi and cable. If I use a hotspot or another network, it works - so it's definitely the router's fault.

I tried stopping then disabling the firewall, but then I have no internet.

Please, I know there is a super simple setting somewhere, but I have no concept on even what term to search for as I have no meaningful knowledge of networks and OpenWRT is super complex.

Thank you!

Sounds like a DNS issue. Have you installed any DNS based packages (such as Adblock or similar) or set your DNS configuration such that it points to a DNS server that is not able to resolve?

Is OpenVPN running on the router? If so, is it a server or client on the router?

1 Like

Thank you for your answer,

I use adblock as a browser extension, disabling it does not change things. It's not installed on the router.
Actually the router is just a fresh install of 21.02.2 , I've not installed anything, nor have I messed with the settings beyond setting up 2.4g and 5g networks.

So where is the VPN? is it on your computer? Is this end the server or client? Where are you seeing the error -- is this in the OpenVPN log or something like a web browser or similar after the VPN connection has been established?

The vpn server is remote, it's an open vpn setup. To connect I'm using open vpn connect on a mac, the status icon indicates it connected.

I'm using the vpn for a work related website, it's API is only accessible via this VPN.

When I try to log in, looking in chrome dev tools, I see the Error Name Not Resolved for the api call.