Very Quirky Behavior - 'Routing' abilities lost

Hello,
It's a bit of a novel, but TL;DR I have rather been forced to give up my use of OpenWRT as the sole network appliances, forced a hard reset, and now I can't even get LUcI to load IMMEDIATELY after a flash.

Several weeks ago, I had my EA8300 essentially forget how to route.
It should be noted that I'm not a networking expert, my IT brain is more useful with point-of-use problems & troubleshooting. I'm not the best with SSH, and only use the command line in windows or linux when I'm good and stuck- consequently I rely heavily on LuCI. I've been carrying static IP's for years, so (although I leave DHCP on) I have static addresses for my towers, network drives etc..
Prior to this June, my router had almost a year of continuous trouble-free uptime. I don't know what caused the problem, but I hadn't changed anything or unduly stressed the network, but I found myself needing to reboot the router every morning at the start of work. What was truly odd was that my WRT-1200AC started flaking out at the same time, even though it had just been relegated to switching and AP functionality.
In order to try to salvage things, I went ahead and re-flashed both of them, and did a settings restore from 12 months prior. Both routers lost connectivity and had to be hard-reset after the settings import (and I tried trimming the settings down to JUST the DHCP file, to save myself re-entering all those static IP's).