Using the SDK to include Python libraries in the firmware

Hello,

After far too much difficulty in trying to install Scipy directly to OpenWRT (Difficulties with installing SciPy on OpenWRT), I found that apparently what I could be doing instead is using the SDK or the Image Builder to include it in the firmware.

Specifically, what I want to do is include my Python program with all associated dependencies. And the dependencies for those dependencies. I know that the hardware can cope - it's a Raspberry Pi 3B - but since the firmware doesn't want to co-operate it seems I gotta write my own.

I've never used the SDK or Image Builder before. Will either of them do what I want them to do, and if so how would I do so?

if using the build tree, this is part of
make menuconfig

if using the imagebuilder, you include package names in the command

guides for both:

I set up the Image Builder via the first guide and the make menuconfig stage has given me the config menu, as below:

but I can't seem to find where I'd make it add the Python modules I want it to - e.g. a search for "pip" gives only results for pipes or ipip. Can the GUI be used to include custom packages/libraries/etc or is that something I'll need to do using the second guide?

this has everything you need to know

pick the right package carefully, as there is massive size differences

I've included the full-fat Python module and managed to write some firmware.

But what I'm trying to include is a Python library i.e. a package installed by the pip command as opposed to opkg. It's not on the opkg repository, so it's not covered by the ./scripts/feeds command given by that Python link you provided.

So what should I be using instead?

Is pip not available after installing the main python package?

at least by using python to invoke pip

python -m pip .....

pip3 is an available command.