User (uci) options related to pppd have no effect (cmdline ovverided by file)

I'm still learning, so be pls be gentle. There is a lot of information around and is scattered so much that I'm probably wrong.

Some pppd user settings are loaded and passed as arguments to pppd (/lib/netifd/proto/ppp.sh script, ppp_generic_setup function) but other settings are read from /etc/ppp/options.

My router: TD-W8970 v1
My /etc/ppp/options (noipv6 added by me since I do not use IPv6):

#debug
logfile /dev/null
noipdefault
noaccomp
nopcomp
nocrtscts
lock
maxfail 0
lcp-echo-failure 5
lcp-echo-interval 1
noipv6

As exemple, maxfail value is set to 1 (cmdline) and it does not make sense since my pppd goes up after ~14 attempts, and that's is possible since maxfail is set to 0 ("unlimited attempts") inside /etc/ppp/options (and that is whats actually should always be, since if the connection fails I want my router to try to connect again).

I've disabled the peerdns request by removing usepeerdns from the script (pppd cmdline arguments), and let the ${peerdns:+set PEERDNS=$peerdns} (another argument).... but set is not a possible argument of pppd, PEERDNS should be USEPEERDNS and used as environment variable and not as argument (right?). I've exported both (just to be sure) USEPEERDNS=0 and PEERDNS=0 variables inside the pppd.sh script right before launching pppd and now /etc/ppp/resolv.conf is not created anymore (as expected).

Also:

• Why pppd settings are scattered around multiple files?
  • Why "pppd settings related" logic is half inside /lib/netifd/proto/ppp.sh and half inside other netifd scripts?
  • Why /etc/ppp/options exist if is not modified by the user?
  • Why /lib/netifd/proto/ppp.sh reference /etc/ppp/options.pptp (almost at the end of the file), that does not exist?
  • Why eve maxfail is set to 1? (even if ignored later)