Use a different/specific Interface to send remote logs

I have openwrt configured to send logs to a remote syslog server. However I would like to configure it to use a specific interface because of the way my network is segmented/configured.

Interfaces:

• default lan - br-lan - 192.168.99.1 (emergency / anti lockout only)
  • mgmt: eth0.33 - 192.168.33.1 (this the admin UI is accessed from normally)
  • etc...

Openwrt's log service binds to the br-lan to send out the logs, but the way I have my set up this interface isn't accessible on the network. Is there a way to tell openwrt/logd to bind to the mgmt interface instead.

I'm still pretty new to openwrt but didn't see anything in the UI. Maybe by CLI or conf file?

I know if I disable the br-lan, the log service will then bind to the mgmt interface but I need the br-lan one active for emergency.

What's the DST IP of this syslog server?

1 Like

As it would do with any other traffic, the router will send the logs using the interface that best matches the destination address; it does not bind anything to any interface just because. If this does not clarify the issue, post the full list of interfaces, their addresses and masks, and the address for the syslog server.

2 Likes

In case it matters, I have openwrt configured as a backup managed switch. Pfsense router is upstream and holds all the firewall rules.

The syslog server is on 192.168.11.xxx.

Oh yes it matters. So you're saying that the OpenWrt isn't a router; but has a connection to 2 networks (with gateways)?

And neither network is 192.167.11.0/24?

Then more information is needed.

Can you show the OpenWrt config?

cat /etc/config/network

FYI, this is starting to sound like a Pfsense solution.

Sorry was trying to keep description short and not distract from the main question. I have troubleshoot already and can see the network traffic but want to change openwrt's behaviour. These are vlans btw.

I don't think it's a pfsense thing b/c: