USB/IP dependencies missing

Hi,

i'm very new to OpenWRT world and i was about to use one of my routers as an USB/IP server. So i installed PandoraBox to my Xiaomi Mi Router 3, i installed kmod-usbip, kmod-usbip-client, kmod-usbip-server (tested web-manager and even opkg via SSH), i added kernel modules and was eager for testing.
Unfortunately when i try commands "usbip" or "usbipd" the system throws at me this:

[root@PandoraBox:/root]#usbip -l
-ash: usbip: not found
[root@PandoraBox:/root]#usbipd -D
-ash: usbipd: not found

I've checked file paths and there truly (probably) are missing crucial binaries(usbip, usbipd, usb.ids) of this feature. Is there any non-overkill solution for such noob? I even tried to compile my own firmware according to OpenWRT tutorial but it fails everytime on "world" error. It seems like there isn't the profile for "Xiaomi Mi Router 3" anyway so who knows if it would even work.

Thank you for any advice!

PandoraBox is not OpenWrt -- problems with their packages should be resolved through their support channels.

I haven't tried to keep track of the Xiaomi models and several have "3" in their name. I'd search the forum here to find out what the status of OpenWrt support for your specific model is.

It may be the one described at https://openwrt.org/toh/xiaomi/mir3 and/or

2 Likes

Oh, i thought so when i followed the instructions in OpenWRT website.
https://openwrt.org/toh/xiaomi/mir3#how_to_flash_pandorabox_openwrt

Ok, now i've noticed there is also a "raw" OpenWRT firmware so i'll try that one.

Anyway, there shouldn't be such problem, right? The package should include everything (i'm asking because i've tested two other routers with the same result and those both have OpenWRT firmware).

From feeds/packages/net/usbip/Makefile

define Package/usbip
  $(call Package/usbip/Default)
  TITLE+= (common)
  DEPENDS+= +libwrap +kmod-usbip +libudev-fbsd +USE_GLIBC:libbsd
endef

define Package/usbip-client
  TITLE+= (client)