Upgrading internet, need a new router

I recently upgraded my internet connection from 15 Mbit down to 120 Mbit down, and with such a high speed, my old WR841N is no longer fit for the job. I'm looking for a new OpenWrt-capable device to replace it, and I want to go with TP-Link again (though not necessarily) since I've had no bad experiences with them and they have the best availability where I live. In that case, I would need a device with gigabit switch ports, and 5 GHz Wi-Fi is a bonus.

Unfortunately that's where I don't have much of a choice according to my own research:

• Archer C2: MTK-based, ToH lists 5 GHz Wi-Fi as non-working. Has a newer V5 revision which is not supported.
  • Archer C5: V2 is Broadcom-based which has implications on Wi-Fi, however I located a source for the older V1.20. ToH warns about lack of hardware NAT but probably not a big deal at my internet speed.
  • WR1043ND: older model, but looks to be the best one of the bunch?
  • Archer C7: a bit outside my price range but also seems good. Newest V4 revision.
  • Archer C20, Archer C60, ASUS RT-AC51U: ports are not gigabit
  • D-Link: DIR-815 and DIR-819 have no gigabit ports and no support

I was wondering what the community thinks would be the best pick. I'm strongly leaning towards the older WR1043ND at this point. Any assistance would be appreciated.

Consider buying a low end x86 and using your existing WR841N as a wifi access point, or getting yourself a wifi access point.

Look around in your market area for mini PCs with dual LAN. You won't be disappointed, and it will last you a decade most likely, so will only cost you tens of dollars per year.

This is the kind of thing I'm thinking of: https://www.amazon.com/Desktop-Computer-Fanless-Partaker-Barebone/dp/B072MDNV7Q

Though there are many other sources.

I own a 1043N v5 and Archer C7 v4 and would always tend to the Archer because only the 5GHz AC Wifi can max out my 200mbit connection.