Upgrading Flash Chip for HT-TM02/Ravpower WD-02?

I am very new to this. I know enough to make a custom device image (and roughly enough to configure the thing through LuCi, though I feel that the tooltips and names could stand to be less cryptic; I'm probably doing something insecure), but I still have trouble figuring out low-level features like how the all the hardware gets set up or how the init scripts run, get registered, or are located.

What all that gibberish means is that I'd like a detailed and simple explanation/guide, if possible.

My router uses an 8-pin SPI NOR Flash chip, the MX 25L6406E. It is the HooToo TM-02, so far as the image creator and the hardware are concerned (the manufacturer and layout are different, but schematic and hardware are the same).

The CPU is a RT5350 with 32MB of RAM. I would like to be able to install a larger Flash chip and keep the WiFi working too. Apparently, there's a special partition/data block that needs to be located at the end of the chip.

Can you please tell me how to get the OS installed on the new chip and make sure all the offsets to the partitions are still correct? I have the following questions:

What type of flash chip is this (I think I recall hearing about some kind of 8/16 thing that can make your chips appear larger or smaller, and I'd prefer to avoid mismatching), and what one should I buy to get the most possible flash space?

How do I get the OS to know that it now has a larger chip than before and to thus use the new space (and where do I configure this -- I suspect both the Uboot and device tree would need updating, but I don't know where to find either)?