Updates, interface, ease of use stuff, typical noob stuff (i think)

I came from a Mikrotik router to a linksys WRT1900ACS
Mainly because the mikrotik was the last gen that didn't have AC and i won the linksys on a twitch stream; i've got AC on the pc i use.
So i knew right out of the gate how bad linksys operating systems are and jumped onto OpenWRT.
Right now i'm a complete nooblet, i installed the firmware, then found out you need to ssh, or at least i didn't see an option to use an interface on first try.
So i installed Luci as per a quick google search on GUI for OpenWRT.
From there i've really not done much.

I like my routers to have the functionality that later i can play with; mostly by google searching what i don't know set things up, then forget about them completely.
In that state of mind, i don't exactly know how, when, or where to look to keep up with updates.

If you're at all familiar with RouterOS, you know there's a ton of features in it, but they also have the quickset where you can click "check for updates" and read what fixes they have done.
Is there something i can install that would give me that with an easy update option where it downloads what i want to update via a button, maybe some check marks if there are multiple packages that are there to download, and then push a button and let it do it's thing?

If not, can i get a quick rundown on what i should be doing to keep this up to date?
also any recommendations for additional cool things i can install that would be nice.
Not even sure if there's functionality for the usb to work. Would actually like to set my usb drive on there so i can have a network drive that isn't next to the computer and my mobile devices could pull/push to.

Yes, LuCI has this functionality by default. Once it is installed, just go to:
http://192.168.1.1 (or other router IP that you have set)
...with a browser, that is connected to one of the LAN ports and look around the interface.