Unexplained hangs freezes and reboots with Archer c2600

I've been running a TP-Link C2600 for over two years now. Been through all OpenWRT versions from 17.01 to 19.07.

The issue is the unit freezes and hangs quite often. Most of the time it reboots automatically. Sometimes the lights stop blinking, and I have to yank out the power cord to recover it. I can't find anything in the system logs or dmesg.

Has anyone else been experiencing similar symptoms? I suspect I should use the Widlarizer to fix it.

Have you installed or upgraded any packages since you flashed the firmware? What have you changed in the configuration (relative to the default configuration)? How often does the problem occur? What else have you done to troubleshoot?

For those unfamiliar with the term "Widlarize(er)":

Now, when I have finished my inspection, and I am still mad as hell because I have wasted a lot of time being fooled by a bad component – what do I do? I usually WIDLARIZE it, and it makes me feel a lot better. How do you WIDLARIZE something? You take it over to the anvil part of the vice, and you beat on it with a hammer, until it is all crunched down to tiny little pieces, so small that you don’t even have to sweep it off the floor. It makes you feel better. And you know that that component will never vex you again. That’s not a joke, because sometimes if you have a bad pot or a bad capacitor, and you just set it aside, a few months later you find it slipped back into your new circuit and is wasting your time again. When you WIDLARIZE something, that is not going to happen. And the late Bob Widlar is the guy who showed me how to do it.

Bob Pease – Troubleshooting Analog Circuits

Source: https://hackaday.com/2014/04/08/heroes-of-hardware-revolution-bob-widlar/

That device should work rather well, but without more detailed logs it's hard to guess what might be the problem. Potential issues would include: