Understanding WLAN1 and Radio1

I am fairly new to OpenWRT. I have successfully installed OpenWRT on a Raspberry Pi4.
I have it up an running well with an RT5370 Wireless adapter. I would Like to use my RTL8812AU 5G adapter.

ifconfig shows WLAN0 and WLAN1.
In /etc/config/wireless I have radio0 and radio1.

When I plug in my new wireless adapter (I did update the proper drivers) I get radio3 in my /etc/config/wireless but ifconfig shows WLAL1 and WLAN2... I do not get 0 1, and 2.... I tried reboot and sometimes I get WLAN0 and WLAN2... So I am not sure how these are managed and how can I configure them.?

Thanks,
C

• Have you set it up, or are you saying something else is occurring too?
  • You sometimes get WLAN0 and WALN2 where (a display, you see the SSID on air, etc.)?

The Pi router is set up and working.
WLAN0 (i guess is Radio0) and is getting wifi from Starbucks. Radio1 is my USB Wifi Adapter (the old RT5370 2G) is providing my hotspot that I connect to.
That all works.

When I plug in my new USB Adapter (RTL8812AU 5G) it shows up as WLAN2 (and takes the place of one of the other Wireless devices in the ifconfig list.)... so instead of seing WLAN0, WLAN1, WLAN2.
I see WLAN0, WLAN2. Not sure why that is. The /etc/config/wireless shows all three radios. But I cant get radio3 to do anything. I figure something is misconfigured and there is no /etc/network folder in OpenWRT like in linux.

Does that help?

Make sure to keep the USB adapters plugged into the same physical ports on the Pi. If you move an adapter to a different USB port, it will be configured as a new radio, and the old wifi-device settings will not work with it.

You can edit /etc/config/wireless to delete radios which no longer exist and renumber the remaining ones.

2 Likes