Unclear version of hostapd in trunk

I am currently experimenting with per-STA PSKs and mixed-mode WPA2/WPA3 SSIDs. There am some recent-ish enhancements in hostapd that could make my life easier and maybe also fix some of the issues I am facing. Also I don't want to open any hostapd-bugs when not using the most recent version.

The Makefile of hostpad reads: PKG_SOURCE_DATE:=2020-06-08

I can see some commits to hostapd inside the OpenWrt-repo, but they seem to relate to some patches and scripts? Is this really the base for hostapd-code? If yes, what is the best way to update to the most current release, especially regarding the custom OpenWrt bulid-time patches?

PS: I am using wpad-wolfssl, I hope this is even the right place to update. Sorry, I'm quite new to building OpenWrt.

Look one line lower, that is your exact source base:

1 Like

OK, the hash points to a commit from 2020-06-08 14:48:57 (GMT), so the date inside the Makefile is correct.

How can I update hostapd to a to something that is not 5 months old, especially regarding the custom patches? I know how to update feed-packages from trunk...

Set PKG_SOURCE_VERSION and PKG_SOURCE_DATE to a recent desired commit hash and rebuild the package with:

make package/hostapd/download FIXUP=1
make package/hostapd/{clean,compile} V=s

The first command downloads the source and correct the PKG_MIRROR_HASH variable.
V=s prints the build output to stdout and you see if the custom patches still apply.

This should work with the full build system and with the downloadable sdk's.

If the patches doesn't apply, you have to fix it by removing the patch if it's a fix that is merged upstream or you have to fix that patch to apply on your newer hostapd version.
Take a look here how to work with patches: https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-developer/build-system/use-patches-with-buildsystem