TV tuner over openvpn connection

Hi,

I will go back to my native country country in the future and I have this crasy idea of leaving an energy efficient router at a friend's house for a private local internet access (something I did when leaving my native country) and with a tv tuner on the router for streaming over that remote connection. (btw I am a total newbie for tv tuners).

What type of "pocket" router or device (no wifi needed) and tv tuner combination would work? What skill set do I need? (like recompile a kernel?) . What module are needed? I have already have 2 routers that are satisfactory to me for openvpn connections: gl.inet-ar750s & gl.int-6416. but are they enough for the job? Can the tv-tuner be turned on/off remotetly?

thanks in advance.

Which TV technology do you have in mind? DVB-T? DVB-S?

I use "tvheadend" for TV access within the home, although not on OpenWrt - but a "tvheadend" package seems to be available.

For streaming TV over the VPN, it might have to be transcoded. Transcoding uses a significant amount of processing power that a consumer router simply doesn't have. So depending on your requirements, you might be looking at more powerful / more specialized hardware with transcoding support.

1 Like

On both energy efficiency and speed, I’d recommend using wireguard instead of OpenVPN.

1 Like

DVB-T for sure to avoid subscription and the more local the broadcast the more pertinent for my intended use.

That would be a problem I guess. I could use the low-res broadcast only to reduce the bandwidth. There were discussions in old thread about using USB over net but this functionality seems to have been abandonned over the years.

Advice taken, I really need to study this but I haven't figured out how to configure wireguard properly on routers that are pure servers within a lan.

It’s fairly straightforward. When you have a config for is to review, we can help get it working.