Trying not to brick my WRT1900ACS (reverting to old FW)

Hi all, I'm kinda new to this but here is the full (and short) story: I installed LEDE Reboot 17.01.4 r3560-79f57e422d / LuCI lede-17.01 branch (git-17.290.79498-d3f0685) on my WRT1900ACS (V1). It went fine, it was working, but I decided to revert back to the old Linksys FW before trying alternatives. This is when trouble started. I downloaded the original FW from Linksys own website, a IMG file, tried to install it through the webpage, but it kept saying: The uploaded image file does not contain a supported format. Make sure that you choose the generic image format for your platform. I searched a little bit online and found that I should do it in SSH with the -F parameter to force the FW to go through. I did that and thought my router was dead after the reboot...

Turns out it's not completely dead, I powered it off and then on 4 times and managed to "switch firmware" (source) and it booted on partition #2 on LEDE. It works. However, I still don't know how to revert back to original FW since it won't work with the GUI or the CLI (I tried multiple versions of the IMG OEM FW, then tried some factory-to-ddwrt.bin files, then tried to convert the binaries to TRX following another guide here and using the webgui with no success, so I'm kinda stuck). And now that I think about it, I'd like to fix partition #1 before doing anything with partition #2 but I haven't found any guide to flash the inactive partition.

Any kind of help would be appreciated before I brick my $150 router, it's been a very frustrated day for me so far. I consider myself lucky to still have a chance to fix all of this...

Did you read that wiki entry?
https://openwrt.org/toh/linksys/wrt_ac_series
There are a lot of information... Probably you have to use a factory image from there...

If you do not overwrite bootloader partition and have a backup of all your partitions, it's very hard to brick it completely...