Transfer rate for Qos

Greetings. I am new to openwrt, but I am already loving it. I am struggling to understand how the transfer rates work when setting up Qos. They do not seem to line up with reality. I am testing by using speed test.net. I have SQM Qos running, and in order for bandwith to be limited to 20mbps, I have to set the ingress and egress values to 52000 kbps... I would expect it to be 20000 kbps. I also installed luci-app-nft-qos to limit specific ip addresses. I listed my phone and in order to limit it to 6mbps, I have to set the value to 750kbps... again I would expect it to be 6000kbps. Am I doing something wrong or misunderstanding how these values work? Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated.

I believe you are confusing bits and bytes. 6000kbps (bits) is 6000/8 = 750 kBps (Bytes) for example

1 Like

Sorry for all the posting and deleting. My brain is not working as it should. This answers my question concerning luci-app-nft-qos, as those limits are given in bytes (which I did not realize. I will pay closer attention). However, it still leaves me wondering about SQM Qos. Those values are given in kilobits, and I have to set it to 52,000 to limit my speed to around 21 megabits. Setting it to 21,000 limits me to about 7 megabits... am I not understanding how SQM Qos works?

That's definitely weird. SQM works in kilobits per second and everyone gets that kind of limit. I think there must be something wrong in your config. But first are you testing on a wired device? Also you can't run nft QoS and SQM together as far as I know