Tp-link WN721N (v1.9) support

Hello, I saw a tp-link WN721N v1.9 for sale but was not sure to purchase it as im not sure if openwrt supports it and I came here to ask. From what i've seen in the other posts im fairly confident it will work but i'd rather ask first.

Check in the Table of Hardware...

After reading that, by the looks of it, it doesn't.

Isn't the WN721N an USB wireless adapter ? it won't be on that list.

Ngl, im very new to openwrt so I dont know whats supposed to be where, but yes it is a wireless USB adapter.

1 Like

Then it wouldn't be on the list, it's for routers, not wifi radios using USB.

Seems the unit is Atheros based, so it might be supported.

Gonna try it in that case.

1 Like

It's an AR9271 chip, which has excellent driver support. But it is only a bgn 1x1 radio.

…and it's not really great as AP either (I used one for years, not a good idea), as USB wireless cards generally aren't.

A seemingly unique feature of that chip/driver is when monitoring with Wireshark, it will report the actual speed / MCS that a packet was sent.

Well, it's one of the only atheros based untis I could find in my country and since international delivery is having problems due to current situations, I'd be unable to get one from another country.

To be clear, ar9271 is one of the best supported (in the sense of ath9k_htc) USB wireless cards existing, but it still doesn't work acceptably well as AP or in 24/7 operations; no USB wireless card does. Additionally the on-device RAM of ar9271 is very limited, allowing only a limited number of clients to connect to it in AP mode (4-8); this is a physical limit that can't be extended in software.