TP-Link TL-MR3040 Android issues

Hi all!

I Bought a TP-Link TL-MR3040 v2 Router for my job. It has a Lucy Lede firmware on it, but i cannot set up my phone to reach the local network via wifi. (this one comfortable to use, because has a built in battery)

My laptop works well on the wifi network what the device created, but my phone(oneplus 9 pro android 14) not. It can join to the wifi, but if i enter the address what i want to reach, i got the following message: the address is unreachable.(in the same time, i can reach the same address from my laptop)

I also have TP-Link TL-WR902AC router, and that one works well with my laptop and my phone. (this one has an original TP-Link firmware)

Is it possible, to fix somehow this? Im not a network expert, so i very welcome any help.

Many Thanks!

This device is really really old, and the firmware is from 2017. The firmware has been EOL and unsupported for the last 5 years or so, and the hardware you are using is too old and under-resourced to use firmware that is currently supported (i.e. 23.05). The firmware that can run on that device is so old that it will have many known security vulnerabilities and should not be used anymore.

This one is still usable with 23.05 (although depending on the version, may be unsupported on future OpenWrt versions).

You should really retire the MR3040v2 and just use your WR902AC.

Ohh I understand. Maybe I can use with an older Android device? Or could you recommend me a router with built in battery which can works with Android 14?

If you use both an old/unsupported/EOL version of OpenWrt, you are exposing yourself to potentially serious security vulnerabilities in general. Add to that an older version of your OS and you're probably asking for even more serious issues. My recommendation is just e-cycle the device.

I don't have any specific recommendations, but assuming you want to run OpenWrt, it would be a good thing to ask on the hardware recommendations section of the forum.