TP-LINK MR3020 v3 as a remote controller

I am complete newbie to OpenWRT/LEDE.

My hardware is TP-LINK MR3020 v3.

What I would like to implement:

1. Mobile connection backup by attaching two USB 3G/4G modems.
  2. Implement hardware RS485 interface, to control and query RS485 MODBUS devices attached to MR3020.

Can you suggest, how can I start with my intentions?
What is the roadmap for me to learn/to do?
Which OpenWRT/LEDE build works for TP-LINK MR3020 v3?

Thank you in advance!

Get comfortable with command-line Linux, if you aren't already.

I hate to say this, but "get a different router" as the MR3020 only has 4 MB of flash, is slow, only has one USB port, and the v3, according to that link, isn't supported by OpenWRT/LEDE at this time.

Past that, make sure that your various USB adapters have driver support.

Jeff, thank you for suggestions. I am a sort of computer guy, so I am familiar with command-line Linux, with C/Python programming. But I still need suggestion.

Let me describe:
I want to build cheap mobile-connected(backed-up) remote controller, as a bridge to remote RS485-controlled relays(no realtime reqs).
The controller should maintain connection to remote server via VPN.
The server should be able to send TCP queries to the controller, that translate to Modbus commands/queries to IO relay board.

I guess that fast router is not required for that purpose, right?

Is that possible to(?):

1. Utilize USB hub like this: http://4.bp.blogspot.com/-2UKdaEmjLYE/VnDfAeuVh_I/AAAAAAAAKCI/pOW8zM2y_5Q/s1600/2015-11-17%2B16.58.26.jpg
  2. Attach USB-RS485 USB Dongle
  3. Use libmodbus to code TCP-modbus bridge.
  4. Attach 2 USB 3G modems to the USB hub. Then setup mobile connection backup with std OpenWRT settings.

I know that there are quite expensive OpenWRT-based routers(Teltonika) with RS485 support, so this should be possible.

Can you comment on/correct my assumptions in that area?