TP-Link Archer C2 v3 + Sagemcom FAST5460 vs. Technicolor CGA4233DE

Hello Community,

I'm connected by 500 Mbit Vodafone cable to the internet. I'm just a private novice user.
Since the former Sagemcom FAST5460 router didn't fit my needs any more, I used an Archer C2 v3 modem together with the cable router in bridge mode. Someday the Archer wasn't able to connect any more and I changed TP-Link firmware to openwrt. Everything was fine for a pretty long time.
A couple of weeks ago my internet only connected at about 200 Mbits by LAN. Vodafone told me, that I need the Technicolor CGA4233DE router. Together with this router and the Archer I still get only about 200 Mbits by LAN. The Technicolor for itself runs at 500 Mbits by LAN.

Is this issue same as So you have 500Mbps-1Gbps fiber and need a router READ THIS FIRST - #3 ?

I'm asking because this Thread sounds to me ab bit more like a professional environment rather than my privat one device setup.

Is there a way to setup the Archer to transfer the full speed, or will I need a new device?

Thanks and regards, Marek

i think your Archer C2 is too weak to handle the 500Mbps.
install htop :

opkg update
opkg install htop

and then run it.
htop

once it is runing, start a speedtest, and see the cpu load in the graph at the top. if it is close to 100% then you're good for buying a more powerfull router.
Any MT7621 cpu based router can handle 1Gbps fiber without problem (as long as you enable HW Nat in the firewall settings)

1 Like

Thank you very much for your answer. I will test the Archer. Due to Vodafone setup regulations I have to wait now for 7 days before I can activate bridge mode again :man_facepalming:

I will report the test result than.

i just watched the spec of this router : https://deviwiki.com/wiki/TP-LINK_Archer_C2_v3.x
it has a 1 core 750Mhz cpu... I think you can already start looking for your next router :sweat_smile:

1 Like