Total Download and Upload Data Limit

Hello,

I'm pretty new to OpenWrt and I just installed my brand new Netgear R6220 Router with OpenWrt 19.07.4 firmware.

I have the following requirements:

1> Limit the total bytes transferred and received through a particular interface, to say 250 GB. All packets MUST be dropped post reaching this data limit, if the limit is reached within a month. I want this data limit to be reset every month.

2> Limit the Max Speed of Data Transferred on a certain Interface, to say 50 Mbps.

3> It would be great if I can prioritize the traffic in one interface over the other. For example, I want to prioritize Default LAN Interface over another LAN2 Interface by sharing my overall WAN Data Speed in the ratio of 75:25 respectively.

Please let me know how would I go about accomplishing the above requirements. Point 1 & 3 is more important than Point 2 and I would highly appreciate the help provided.

Thanks & Regards,
Cliff!

would you like some dynamic with that?

seriously tho'... do (1) on the router and use a managed switch for (2) and (3)...

done.

Could you please let me know how would you do point 1 on the router?

you would slide your mouse up to the top right of the screen... click the thing that looks like a magnifying glass... search for 'wan limits' ( etc. )... read... read... read... try... test... try... test... and come back with any specific targeted questions that may arise.

1 Like

Sharing the solution I found for at least part of my original request. What's fulfilled?

1> Being able to monitor total usage from a particular subnet and then shutting down the interface it is connected through, once when the data limit has been reached and then resetting the same at 00:00 hrs on 1st of every month in case the interface was shutdown due to the limit being reached.

2> Hourly email backup of the Usage Database in case the db get's corrupted for restore purposes.

First, let's get started with the solution for point 1 above: