TL-MR3020v3 wifi client on an UniFi wireless network

Hi guys,
I'm quite new to openwrt world. I'm attemping to connect a TL-MR3020 as a wifi client to an Ubiquity AP. The wifi network is properly working with some clients PCs. When I setup the client connection on the TL-MR3020 using LuCl -> Networks -> Wireless -> Scan and entering the correct passphrase the client cannot connect. Executing dmesg in a client terminal return this:

[ 1679.431213] wlan0: send auth to f0:9f:c2:dd:d9:11 (try 1/3)
[ 1679.439777] wlan0: f0:9f:c2:dd:d9:11 denied authentication (status 37)
[ 1700.960154] wlan0: authenticate with 18:e8:29:c7:85:fd
[ 1700.970477] wlan0: send auth to 18:e8:29:c7:85:fd (try 1/3)
[ 1700.978946] wlan0: 18:e8:29:c7:85:fd denied authentication (status 37)

wpa encryption on the network is set to AES/CCMP Only and changing type on encryption/cypher on the tplink did not help...

Can someone help me?
Thanks
Alessio

Any logs from the AP side?

Hm... nothing useful... Only application log with no information about WiFi connections... I'm figuring out how to enable detailed logging cause the UniFi controller was deployed using docker and the log files are only related to mongodb and the web application itself...

By default all client and AP events are logged and you can see them in the unifi controller Events page.

On unsuccessfull connection I had:

Rogue Access Point PAC Srl [98:da:c4:84:b6:04] was detected	10:43 am	04/21/2020

While, in an open network named Test123 I have:

OpenWrt has connected to Uffici with SSID "Test123" on channel 1

That confirm that without WPA it can connect...

see the attached image...

This is not connected to OpenWrt.
You need to sort out first the Rogue AP problem. The access point where you are connecting the first time doesn't seem to be registered properly to the unifi controller.

Hm... ok... I will keep you updated! (I googled a lot and did not find a solution so maybe someone else is interested).
Thanks for your time!

1 Like