Tighten security of access to router GUI

Hi,
I am a newbie to OpenWRT. Have been looking around for steps needed to restrict GUI access to my GL-MT3000 AX6 Travel Router.

Although it runs on OpenWRT 21.02 with a sleek interface on the top. Access to LuCI is still available where advanced features of LuCI are hidden.

Just wondering how i can restrict access to the router's GUI to:
i) a specific IP address, say 192.168.1.50, AND
ii) only via a specific port, say, 22212 so that

ONLY the device with IP of 192.168.1.50 can access the router's GUI, using a browser with: https://192.168.1.1:22212
https://192.168.1.1:22212

Many thanks in advance.

You probably know that 21.05 is already end-of-support, end-of-life, so if you want security, you should move to 22.03 or 23.05.

You can secure the port I web server config, https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/services/webserver/uhttpd
But the connection's source IP address limiting might need firewall rules.

3 Likes

Are you using this as a travel router? Typically, it would only be your own devices (and/or those of your friends and family that you are with) that are connected to a travel router, so usually you won't be granting access to untrusted users/devices. In that scenario, a good password is usually sufficient to keep your device safe. If you're using this as a home or business router I could see more users/devices that could be potential threats, of course.

Another approach is to create an additional network for untrusted devices to connect, and set the firewall to disallow local connections. Or, for that matter, use that network for trusted devices, too, and configure your use lan as the "management" network, making this management network the only one that has access to administer the router.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. Will take a closer look.