Switch-firewall-traffic-capture

Hi all
Perhaps somebody here can advise me on if OpenWrt/LEDE is a good starting point for my project.
I want a single low-cost device that is a switch, a firewall, and with dumpcap or tcpdump captures some part of the frames arriving at all ports before or after the firewall rules are applied.
It should securely forward the captured data to another host.
For example, I might want it to forward just the destinations of traffic from a particular host.
It will be sufficient to SSH to the device to make configuration changes via CLI.
Is this possible with just configuration of OpenWrt/LEDE, or will I need to add functionality?
I have some C programming experience on Linux and a Ubiquiti ER-X that I could use, but I am happy to buy something more appropriate for this project.

You were OK until "[pcap] after firewall rules are applied".

• low-cost -- check, if that means under $100 for a few hundred mbps, and under $200 for closer to 1 Gbps. You need the CPU power to handle the interfaces, run pcap, and encrypt the data for the ssh connection
  • switch -- check, most can "mirror" a port to another port (such as an interface on the SoC) -- make sure the device has at least two interfaces on the SoC (not just 5 ports on the back!)
  • firewall -- check, iptables "by default" and nftables can be installed from packages as an alternative
  • tcpdump -- check, tcpdump-mini package is probably sufficient
  • ssh -- check