Support for MikroTik Groove 52

any support for mikrotik groove 52? i'm not an expert openwrt user but love it, it 's possible install openwrt on this device?

0 Likes

Dual band outdoor cpe

hi after long time i finaly booted the grove 52 from ram, i found an old chaos calmer edition on old openwrt forum. now wich firmware i should try to install on it?

0 Likes

hi, i found this recent guide! it's for the SXT 2nD r3, it has SPI NOR flash,same as the groove. the guide say;

1. Boot openwrt-ar71xx-mikrotik-vmlinux-initramfs.elf using a DHCP+TFTP server.
  2. Erase the "firmware" partition using the mtd command. This should
    no longer be required once this patch is merged.
  3. Use sysupgrade to install to flash. The file
    openwrt-ar71xx-mikrotik-rb-nor-flash-16M-squashfs-sysupgrade.bin
    should be used.
    so what's the right command to erase firmware partition? any help please?
0 Likes

cat /proc/mtd
dev:    size   erasesize  name
mtd0: 0000e000 00010000 "routerboot"
mtd1: 00001000 00010000 "hard_config"
mtd2: 00001000 00001000 "soft_config"
mtd3: 00180000 00010000 "kernel"
mtd4: 00180000 00010000 "rootfs"
mtd5: 00ce0000 00010000 "ubifs"

so wich partition i should remove?

0 Likes

As a warning, following directions for a different device, even with the same chips, can easily brick your device. That you see “ubifs” and not “firmware” should be a huge red flag.

Edit:

I don't see your device listed as supported at https://openwrt.org/toh/start?dataflt[Brand*~]=Mikrotik

Perhaps it is known by a different model number, but unless there is an image for your specific device, you will probably need to port OpenWrt to it before you flash anything.

0 Likes

jeff i bricked the router 4 times, this is driving me crazy.

0 Likes