Strange iptables behaviour when used with ipset - x64 17.01.1

Hi, I am relatively new to the LEDE world, but I have been spending a lot of time over the last few weeks configuring a nice little networking device as my main router with some added features for helping me bypass the GFW here in China. For the most part I am experiencing some strange behaviours with iptables when used in conjuction with ipset.

I use dnsmasq-full and it's ipset functionality to maintain two ipset lists, one for ip's to proxy and one for ip's to route locally. This functionality works fine. However as the lists grow (to say about 20 or so entries) iptables routing from WAN to LAN just stops and the rules to drop packets, and do NAT forwarding simply stop. If I flush the ipset list then it starts working again! Strangely routing from LAN to WAN always works as expected and the required connections are directed to the proxy.

Although this is not a major issue, it's still not right. But I am at a loss where to start looking or even to report the issue! Is it iptables, ipset, or the kernel module kmod-ipt-ipset?

Any suggestions on things to try would be appreciated? I have ordered some more SSD drives so I can try to see if the problem exists in the latest snapshot and even in a completely different OS.

Paul

I can confirm that I'm seeing the same behaviour.

Was trying to use openvpn-policy-routing, that'd fail, so I cut it down to the smallest reproducible testcase which exhibits the issue.

I attempted to try to diagnose this by adding packet tracing, but it internally uses nftables' nftrace flag, which doesn't seem to be functional. Compiled xt_TRACE.ko / libxt_TRACE.so, but no result.
Updated nftables to 0.7 to get access to the trace monitor, but no activity whatsoever.

With appropriate ipset entry in dnsmasq-full, I too see zero throughput after a bunch of activity.
Will be attempting to sort out tracing before going any further with this.