SQM working on my dumb AP

Hello guys im a total noob at openwrt and networking in general,

what i have

Main Router : Newifi 3 d2
Dumb AP: TPLink wr840N

Other configuuration

Im running mwan3 on my WAN port and Lan port 1

What i have done:

I created another Vlan on my LAN port 4(which my dumb AP is connected)
tagged on CPU and untagged on the port.

and created a new interface which has the IP of 192.168.2.2 since my main router assigns 192.168.2.100-200.

and added sqm on the eth0.4(which is the new interface on LAN port 4)
i have also set the Dumb AP(TPLink wr840N on Access Point Mode) to DHCP server Disabled and set it into the static ip of 192.168.2.2

The problem is whenever i do the things above the devices that connects to the Dumb AP cannot obtain any IP,

so i reverted it all back to deleting my VLAN 4 and deleting the interface attached to it and untagging the LAN port 4 in my VLAN switch. which in this setup i cannot use SQM , and i do not want to SQM my whole LAN, just the LAN port 4 connected my Dumb AP,

If someone can point me to the right direction pls help me.

Other Info:
TPLINK router running on stock firmware

The problem is whenever i create

bumping this

@midnextlevel - A couple thoughts:

• Please don't bump posts, especially so quickly after the initial post. Experts around the world (so it might take 24 hours) read all these new posts and respond if they know something about the situation.

To respond to your questions:

1. You haven't explained why you're setting up a VLAN for a dumb AP. (The Dumb AP Howto recommends connecting LAN-to-LAN, and giving the dumb AP a static IP on the subnet of the main router.)
  2. You haven't explained why you don't want SQM for your main router. (Traffic originating on that router will have bad latency...)

My initial advice would be a) follow the Dumb AP Howto and b) install SQM on your main router to get things working first, then optimize if you find problems. Thanks.