Sorry to be a pain (need 4g help and updating on MT7621A )

hey everyone, I am really new to this and done a few routers in the past but now I live in country I needed a router for 4g.

I opted for the mediatek MT7621A. I know its outdated but worried I pick up the wrong update file if someone could help

I also then need to get the 4g internal sim working but I guess updating would be a good start I have a feeling all this will take me a long time to get my head around

Whats the actual device youve bought? Searching the wiki for the chip name returned quite a lot of hits

The MT7621 is a current-production chip that is well supported. It has dual advanced MIPS cores which is quite a bit of CPU power.

So like @sparks said, it really depends on what particular model router you have-- that establishes how to install OpenWrt and the ports and interfaces you will have available.

Make sure your 4G modem works with desktop Linux with an actual test where you confirm you can reach the Internet. Then look at which drivers it uses. These can then be installed on OpenWrt. Testing on a desktop first saves a lot of confusion should troubleshooting be required.

thank you for the help, its this one -- https://www.aliexpress.com/item/NEW-MT7621A-1200Mbps-2-4GHz-5GHz-dual-band-802-11AC-OpenWrt-WiFi-Wireless-Router-built-in/32432866645.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.59354c4daoEXxd

It's a ZBT WG3526.
https://openwrt.org/toh/hwdata/zbt/zbt_wg3526_16m
You will need to look inside the case to see if a 4G modem card is actually fitted, and if the modem will be compatible with the 4G services in your country.

2 Likes

On a similar device I am using Quectel EC25 modem, in serial mode. Not too expensive, and well supported. Only choose correct EC25 version, for the freqeuencies in your country.