Some questions about nftables and OpenWRT

Hi all,

As some of you already know, I'm developing a suite of shell scripts for geoip blocking. At this point it is fully functional and has no more dependencies which do not ship on OpenWRT by default. Except it only works with iptables. So now I want to adapt it to nftables for OpenWRT support. I'm new to nftables, so I have a few questions.

When answering, please keep in mind that the project aims to be used by other people, not just myself. So my most important consideration is reliability in environments which I do not control, a.k.a to avoid creating issues which an end user would have to solve.

1. Which netfilter hook is best to use? The options are ingress, prerouting, or input and forwarding. My intuition would be to use the prerouting hook because it's the earliest one which is not tied to a specific network interface (so it's simpler to automate). But then maybe there is a reason to use the ingress hook which I'm unaware of? (for example better performance). Or maybe there is a reason to use the input and forwarding hooks?
    For reference:
    Netfilter hooks

2. Is there a preferred method of restoring nft tables and sets upon reboot? Currently my project does this via a cron job which runs at reboot but that doesn't work on OpenWRT because the @reboot crontab tag is unavailable in this version of busybox. So I suppose I'll have to add a script which runs on init. I'm thinking what sort of script that would be (either a shell script or an nft script) and how to avoid race conditions with pre-existing scripts which might run on the same device and do something with the firewall at reboot.

3. What would be the best way to trigger updates? Currently my scripts implement this via a cron job - this does work on OpenWRT, provided that the cron service is enabled. Is there a good reason to change this mechanism?