[Solved] TP-Link Archer C7 v.5 - WAN not detected

Router: TP-Link Archer C7 AC1750 v.5

OpenWRT: 18.06.2
openwrt-18.06.2-ar71xx-generic-archer-c7-v5-squashfs-factory.bin

ISP: RDS-RCS/DIGI (Romania), PPPoE.

When I plug the ISP ethernet cable into the WAN/Internet port, the router doesn't detect it, the WAN/Internet LED stays off, only the power and LAN1 are on. Also in the VLANS/Switch page the WAN shows "no link".

If I put another router in between, Archer router detects the cable from this router.

It's my first time using OpenWRT so I might be doing something wrong.

Thanks.

You should configure your PPPoE connection. The router does not know your PPP credentials unless you set them.

You need to figure out what are you outputting from your ISP modem or modem/router.

If it's just a modem then you will be outputting PPPoE, connecting the cable to OpenWrt WAN port and set your credentials there. If it's a modem/router then you could choose to set it up as bridge if it allows you (i.e. working as modem only), and set the credential on your OpenWrt router (that's pretty much like if your ISP modem is modem-only. Or you could have the routing also happening on your ISP modem/router and use your OpenWrt as a second router (that is connecting the cable to the WAN port but as DHCP client, typically).

you could also connect your ISP rouer/modem to OpenWrt LAN port, but in this case it will only function as switch/AP

Also have a reading through this
https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-user/network/switch_router_gateway_and_nat?s[]=gateway

So to summarize:
ISP modem <--> Open WAN port as PPPoE. Credentials entered in OpenWrt
ISP modem/router in bridge mode <--> OpenWrt WAN port as PPPoE. Credentials entered in OpenWrt
ISP modem/router (as Gateway) <--> OpenWrt WAN port as DHCP client
ISP modem/router (as Gateway) <--> OpenWrt LAN port (switch/AP only. No routing or firewall by OpenWrt)

That's the first thing I did. I changed the WAN protocol to PPPoE and set user/pass.