[SOLVED] Strong password hashing support is broken in Luci

Hello,

I'm brand new to OpenWRT, and I was attracted to it by its modularity. I started getting my feet wet with an old WNR2000V3. I wanted to see if I could produce a stripped down version to use it as a dumb AP. No DHCP or anything.

I love how easy it is to tweak everything while debugging, and now that I had some success with a simple setup, I will start working with a couple of newer routers.

One issue I ran into, though, was enabling stronger hashing algorithms than MD5. I was able to disable the hack and set the default algorithm to SHA256. When I log in using SSH, everything works as expected. I can also successfully change the password from Luci. /etc/shadow shows the correct format.

However, once I enter a new password in Luci, I'm locked out of the router. The password verification function is broken, so entering the correct password doesn't do any good.

We know now that MD5 is very weak and should not be used, so at the very least, SHA256 should be the default algorithm for password hashing in OpenWRT. Can you please provide assistance on how to fix this? I've never programmed in Lua. I'm not sure that the problem is in Luci or in another library (Nixio? Maybe even busybox?)

Thanks in advance for your help.

Centimani

I was able to fix the issue, which was not related to Luci. the following links has the details:
http://lists.busybox.net/pipermail/buildroot/2016-February/154148.html
uClibc does not implement the SHA algorithms needed by Luci and Dropbear to verify logins. After rebuilding the system with libc++, everything worked as expected.

My suggestion is now to really consider enabling SHA256 or SHA512 as the default password hashing algorithm for OpenWRT. It can even be enabled in a 4MB flash system, albeit with a minimal setup.