[Solved] OpenWrt Wired Lan Clients Disappear from DHCP Client List

I am a new user of OpenWRT, but have used DD-WRT many years ago. I’m a reasonably tech savvy person, but this issue has me stumped. I’m sure it will be simple to fix for the “experts” here! :slight_smile:

Summary:

Fresh install of OpenWRT v21.02.3 on Linksys R7800. Default settings in OpenWRT except for creating a root password. My laptop connected directly to a router lan port, gets an IP address as expected and always shows in the DHCP client list. However, when connecting wired Lan clients on an unmanaged switch connected to an R7800 lan port, clients will appear in the DHCP client list, but disappear after a router reboot and never re-appear again. When a Raspberry Pi running Pihole with a fixed IP address is connected directly to the router lan port, it never appears in the DHCP client list. However, I can ssh to the Pihole from the laptop and confirm its IP address with ifconfig. All this was done without enabling any wifi radios. The issue with the DHCP client list occurred regardless of whether or not there was a wan connection to the router.

Two other interesting observations:

1. I installed OpenWRT v21.02.3 on a new TP-Link AC1750 Archer A7 router, and had the identical experience as with the R7800 on OpenWRT.
  2. I returned to using a “stock” Linksys R6700v3 router running Linksys OEM firmware, reconnected to all my wired and wireless devices and everything works as expected with no issues. All DHCP clients show in the client list.