[Solved] Meraki MR33 uboot help

Hi all,

I recently acquired an MR33 and I'm attempting to follow the Google Drive instructions for installing OpenWRT, but having an issue in one of the first steps (flashing uboot). I'm by no means an expert in this sort of stuff, but I can usually figure out what needs to be done for a successful flash. Previously I have done this for the MR18, but the instructions are different enough that I'm having problems.

I'm using a Windows 10 machine and DSD TECH USB to TTL Serial Converter CP2102.

When I get to step 4 (Starting ubootwrite on the PC), I jump to the User Story: Flashing with Windows section later in the document. For me, the CP2102 COM port is 4, so start a CMD window in the directory of the mr33-uboot.bin files and I use the following command:

python ubootwrite.py --serial=COM4 --write=mr33-uboot.bin

However, after about 20-30 seconds I get the following response:

Prompt is Meraki
Found an error, so aborting

Not sure how to get past this. Any help would be very welcomed. Thanks in advance.

• Are you running Python on Windows?
  • Are you executing the py file on the router console, or on the Windows machine?
  • Can you try this booting a Linux-based LiveCD/ISO instead?

Are you running Python on Windows?

I am using python, have version 2.7 installed as described in the Google Drive instructions.

Are you executing the py file on the router console, or on the Windows machine?

On the Windows Machine.

Can you try this booting a Linux-based LiveCD/ISO instead?

I was considering attempting with linux but was hoping there would be a quicker fix on Windows. I'll try the linux route tomorrow.

Thanks

you may want to try a slightly different method as described here: https://forum.archive.openwrt.org/viewtopic.php?id=70514&p=2 post #43. As far as I remember, this method has a more verbose output.

I tried the Linux version of the instructions and got past my previous hurdle with no issues.