[solved]: Lede X86, how can I activate wifi interface?

I am new to LEDE X86. Why is wifi not active by default? It should be in this day and age. So how can I activate it with GUI if possible?

I'm using Lede 17.01.2 X86 version on a Toshiba laptop with Intel wifi and netcardd.

Thanks

Having wifi come up on the first boot is a potential security issue. A neighbor could connect and hijack your router.

Since an x86 system could have any wifi hardware (or none), no wifi drivers are included by default. You need to identify the chips used in your wifi card and install the kmods for it.

So how to turn on wifi? I have read messages and googled for 3 weeks, but I still can't turn on the wifi.

The Opkg Update command gives me the " wget returned 4" error. So how can I get past that? My test system is behind an ISP supplied dsl modem router.

I can see the reason for wifi being off but not including some of the basic drivers is not user friendly at all. Not everyone is a Linux wizard. For the X86 install, HD space should not be a problem.

If I ever get this working, I'm gonna write a Dummy's Guide to Lede-WRT.

It's helpful to detail exactly which version\release of LEDE you are using or if you "rolled" your own.

The release versions of LEDE comes with Luci, and you should be easily able to easily enable it through the Network => Wireless menu.

If you are using a dev build you can also install Luci to make it easy on yourself. Be aware that if you loaded a dev version 3 weeks ago, you may have issues trying to load the current versions of the dev packages as kernel and other things may change. you may have "version mismatch" issues. It's always best to either load all the packages at the time you install the dev build or to download the package repository for local use. You can still run things from a command prompt if you want the pain.