[Solved] How to track down and identify high use machines?

I am running OpenWRT 18.06.1. I am by no means a networking expert so I'm a little lost on how to do something.

Every now and then our internet speed takes a hit. By that I mean everything is really slow. I'll do a speedtest with a wired device and it'll get back 10000 ms ping and 1.78 speed when I should be getting 200.

I am not sure if its our ISP or some device on the network that's hogging the connection.

Before I accuse my ISP I thought maybe there is some way to monitor all the device traffic to find if any device is causing the problem.

Any advice/recommendations on what I should do and/or look for?

name value
model TP-Link Archer C7 v2
Architecture Qualcomm Atheros QCA9558 ver 1 rev 0
Firmware Version OpenWrt 18.06.1 r7258-5eb055306f / LuCI openwrt-18.06 branch (git-18.228.31946-f64b152)
Kernel Version 4.9.120

First off, an Archer c7 is unlikely to do 200Mbps with SQM, but you should be running SQM.

Second, you can look at traffic graphs in LUCI to see where your bandwidth is being used.

Third, you can packet capture to see what kind of traffic you have using tcpdump

Edit
Fourth, are you using WiFi for these tests? Broadcast or multicast traffic can saturate the airtime relatively easily, perhaps someone is using a multicast stream over wifi?

Thanks. I am not sure what SQM is but I will read up on how to enable it.

I know right now I am getting 200 Mbps.

SQM is a system for distributing bandwidth fairly and keeping queue delays small even under load, but it requires CPU power proportional to bandwidth, so at 200mbps the C7 may not handle it

Sounds like you are experiencing BufferBloat, so do install SQM and set it up per the guides. All those random latency spikes will go away.

The C7 will sort of handle 200Mbps with SQM, but you'll be out of CPU, so don't run a ton of other packages on that box.

SQM is totally worth it.