[Solved] How to I revert to Factory Image on WRT3200ACM

Why does SYSTEM/BACKUP/FLASH /Flash new firmware image not work with the factory image? I installed and tried out several different OS images for the WRT3200ACM router until I installed LEDE. This was a DEAD END. It will not allow the image to install. The error is "The uploaded image file does not contain a supported format. Make sure that you choose the generic image format for your platform." I cannot find where anyone else has tried a factory restore with this router. I have already flashed LEDE twice.

Thank you in advance. I had to install PuTTy just to get a command line interface, which I am not good at.

Three failed boots will automatically revert the router to factory firmware.

https://lede-project.org/docs/user-guide/vendor_specific_rescue#dual_firmware_partition

To get back to OEM you will have to ssh into device and:

scp image to /tmp
sysupgrade -F -n /tmp/imagename

Edit: my interpretation was that the OP was on LEDE and wanted off.

Edit2: not if LEDE is on both, again my interpretation of the OP

1 Like

SSH is not available on Linksys routers (as you pointed out in another WRT3200ACM thread).

The WRT3200ACM has two partitions, so the "three failed boots" method reverts to factory.

Either way, the "three failed boots" will get the router back to factory.

Rather than editing one post with replies, it is much easier to follow if you quote and reply directly to the response.

If that's the case, TFTP is also an option...

https://www.linksys.com/us/support-article?articleNum=137928

Thank you everyone for the suggestions. But nothing has worked so far. The "Three Failed Boots" and TFTP solutions require that there is still a Linksys Image file in one of the partitions.

Both partitions have been overwritten with LEDE, I suspect.