[Solved] E-mail WAN IP when changed, with 'mailsend'?

I am searching for the simpler and lighter way to set my Netgear DGN3500 LEDE modem/router send me an e-mail, when my Internet Provider (or a LEDE reboot) changes my WAN (external) IP.
I have never used mailsend before and I have no idea how to write scripts and make them run... Is it possible to set mailsend (or anything simpler and lighter) to read the WAN IP and send me an e-mail when the IP is different than it was before?
It would be nice if the subject could be set to a name that lets us recognize the modem/router, so we can control more than one modem/routers. This name could be also included in the email's content.
Even better if the time of the IP change is in the content, so we know how precise is the service.
If easier, all the information could be only at the e-mail subject.
Thanks to anyone helps!

Lots of possibilities...

https://www.google.com/search?q=monitor+wan+ip+and+email+change&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&client=firefox-b-1-ab

1 Like

Dynamic DNS (DDNS) might be what your after.
https://wiki.openwrt.org/doc/howto/ddns.client

1 Like

I'd think twice about any script that requires you to save your username and password, especially on a public-facing device. Mail, unless you run your own servers, is problematic in that way.

Dynamic DNS is one good solution.

I use MQTT to "post" my current lease information where I can get access to it. For the use cases I have, I don't need proactive notification. If the address changes, I can't connect in from the outside at the old address.

I run dhcpcd so my script won't be directly applicable, but it's a straightforward task to hook DHCP lease renewals, or run it periodically.

For MQTT, you might want to look at the Mosquitto library.

1 Like

What is your intention behind this?
Why do you need IP changes to be mailed to you?

1 Like

Much easier, and more secure than setting up your router with an email account.