[SOLVED] Can't connect WRT3200ACM with OpenWRT to TD-W9970 as Bridge

Hello all,

I just installed OpenWRT on my Linksys WRT3200ACM - a very easy process, once I'd read as much as I could find on it! But I'm having problems getting the WAN connection to the TP-Link TD-W9970 working. I'm hoping I've simply entered the wrong information, but I've tried many combinations and I'm just not seeing the answer.

The TD-W9970 is set up in bridge mode and with the Linksys stock firmware the router connects easily - I've been using it like this for about 6 months without any problems at all.

[It seems as a new user I can only insert 1 image, so this one shows the TD-W9970 status at the top and the stock firmware VLAN settings at the bottom. I tried to duplicate these settings in the OpenWRT setup, but without success]

Composite%20Info

So, in OpenWRT on the router I have tried a few settings, but I figured the most sensible one was to create 2 VLANS, 1 for LAN (1), 1 for WAN (35).
LAN is on eth0.1 with eth0 tagged, LAN1-LAN4 untagged
WAN is on eth1.35 with eth1 tagged, WAN untagged

I figured this would match the VLAN in the working stock setup, but it doesn't .
I tried many other combinations with the VLAN settings but no joy in getting a connection. In the log file there's always a "...timed out waiting for PADO response" error.

As far as I can see I used the correct firmware: openwrt-18.06.1-mvebu-cortexa9-linksys-wrt3200acm-squashfs-factory.img
WiFi works fine, connections between devices on the LAN seems to work OK. Just can't get onto the internet/WAN!!

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks

I should have said I setup the WAN connection as PPPoE, with user and pass as before. If I missed anything else out please tell me.

Have you tried WAN tagged and eth1 untagged for Openwrt switch? Restart modem and router before testing.

1 Like

To mimic the configuration on your second picture, WAN should be tagged.

1 Like