[Solved] BT HH5A: Again reduced speed

Hello,
i've been using a HH5A for a few years, until last weekend with 21.02.
At the beginning there were the usual problems to get the maximum WAN-LAN speed, but for the last 2 years or so i had about 100 MBit/s troughput on a Telekom VDSL line.
I just switched to 22.03 and now the troughput dropped to about 70 MBit/s. Is it because of the new firewall, the switch to DSA or are just the usual tweaks for the HH5A missing?
The DSL data rate shown by DSL Status is still 104/44 MBit/s, as it was with 21.02.
Has anybody a good idea how i can get back the missing 30 MBit/s?

Thanks in advance.

I never got my HH5A operate as router at those speeds (but likely caused by my desire to run sqm on the wan link). But just operating as bridged-modem with a 116/7.37 Mbps sync maxes out one CPU almost fully during bidirectionally saturating loads, so there will not be many reserves for other duties.

Rebooting the bthub5 for the firmware update might have (wrongly) signaled to the ISP that the line is unstable, causing them to drop the connection speed. At least my pervious ISP did exactly that after each modem reboot (new firmware, power loss/ blown fuse, etc.), it took them close to a week to ramp up the speed again.

But then would the reported sync not also change?

Yes, -6-10 MBit/s (DTAG, 100/40 (effecitively 96/34) MBit/s).

1 Like

I just checked the cpu load with htop on 22.03.0 while downloading 100MB from a fast server. While core 0 was at 99%, core 1 just idled at 5-6% resulting in a download speed of approx. 70Mb/s.
Then i enabled 'packet steering across all CPUs', which was disabled on default. Now core 1 had a heavier load, but that didn't reduced the load on core 0 and did nothing for the download speed.
Then i switched back to 21.02.03, just for comparison.
Now i got about 90% load on core 0, but again only less than 10% on core 1.
But i reached a download speed of approx. 105 Mb/s.