Smart VPN routing + server switching with OpenVPN/LuCI?

I'm considering buying a rather powerful router (e.g. Linksys WRT3200ACM or NETGEAR R7800) which has enough CPU power to maintain a VPN connection to commercial VPN servers at high internet speeds. For the setup, I'm wondering if the following can be done with any pre-existing tools/packages:

(Warning: I'm a OpenWRT beginner, I used it once a few years ago, but have no deep experience)

I'd like to set up a "smart routing and switching" VPN on the router that fulfills the following:

• Smart Routing:
    -- Traffic to "local" websites (within the country or region, have a list of whitelisted domains/IPs) is routed directly (no VPN)
    -- All other traffic is routed via the VPN
  • VPN server switching:
    -- Multiple VPN servers to connect to are configured
    -- From experience, the VPN connection to a specific server can die (be interrupted) after a while
    -- If the connection to the server is dead, switch to another one (either randomly, or cyclic, or based on best ping/highest speed)

That would be my minimum requirements... can I achieve that without writing a huge amount of code?

Bonus points if I can additionally achieve of the following:

• Multiple VPN connections can be maintained the same time and traffic is routed through either one depending on certain criteria (e.g. whitelist, say Netflix to VPN-A and the rest to VPN-B)
  • The VPN connection is frequently evaluated (ping/speed) and automatically switched to a faster server if possible

This is impossible to answer without knowing what you consider to be "high speed" and what VPN protocols need to be used (e.g. OpenVPN is significantly slower than IPsec or wireguard). Taking this statement at face value, you'll inevitably end up with high-end i3 or medium i5, respectively lower end ryzen systems.