Slow Wifi for Netgear R7500v1 w/ OpenWRT

Hello,

I've been experiencing some headaches with my Netgear R7500v1 recently. It previously was working well with DD-WRT until a few days ago. After a long journey, I flashed it back to the vendor firmware and installed OpenWRT. I followed the instructions on making it an access point. However, it seems to be extremely slow when trying to use streaming services to my TV. I've run a speed test on my computer that's in the same room as the device, and can get ~100 Mbps. However, the TV is in a different room, down a narrow hall, but still appears to show as a strong internet connection when I check both on my phone and the TV itself.

I found this link:Very slow WiFi for GB connection - #3 by slh which was similar, but I'm not sure how comparable the recommendations are given that the post is ~2 years old. I'm fairly new to networking - despite my past experience flashing with DD-WRT and would appreciate any feedback folks might give. I know the R7500v1 was a bit outdated for DD-WRT and didn't allow 5GHz, and I assume that's the case for OpenWRT as well since I can't seem to find anywhere within the UI to add the capability. I've tried changing the 2.4 GHz channel on Channel 1 (worst performance), as well as Channel 11 (wasn't recognized by my devices). When I did a wireless scan to Join a network via OpenWRT I noticed there were a considerable number of wireless networks that were using channel 6 (18 of the ~30+ networks shown).

Below is some of the output that was requested, in hopes of it maybe expediting the resolution.

root@OpenWrt:~# uname -a
Linux OpenWrt 5.4.179 #0 SMP Wed Feb 16 20:29:10 2022 armv7l GNU/Linux
root@OpenWrt:~# cat /etc/config/wireless

config wifi-device 'radio0'
	option type 'mac80211'
	option path 'soc/1b700000.pci/pci0001:00/0001:00:00.0/0001:01:00.0'
	option band '2g'
	option htmode 'HT20'
	option cell_density '0'
	option channel '6'

config wifi-iface 'default_radio0'
	option device 'radio0'