Setup wifi AP and 802.11 mesh while build image

Hello all,
I am trying to configure wifi AP and 802.11 mesh while building the image. I have got several onions I wanna boot them with a image instead of configuring each one of them separately .

I followed the document https://openwrt.org/docs/guide-developer/quickstart-build-images#install_required_dependencies.
Make is done , I dont know how to customize it .
Also,
I want to keep my project related config files in an another directory so that i can change the configuration using these files instead of changing the default buildroot config every time.

I am very new to this field. sorry if my questions sounds silly.
Thanks in advance

You're looking at the wrong part of the documentation. The bit you linked to ("Install required dependencies") is for the build host, not the output image.

The document goes into detail on how to include extra packages and even custom files, at the bottom:

You can include custom files in your image by placing them in <buildroot>/files , e.g. if you want to have my_config included in your image in the directory /etc/config/<buildroot>/files/etc/config/my_config . If the files directory doesn't exist on your buildsystem, then create it.

I'd also recommend for such changes to use the Image Builder instead of building from source. Much easier to automate, takes less time to build, and you won't end up with a broken install (most likely).

Adding custom files on an ImageBuilder build is also simple. Just follow the guide and take a look at the "Usage" section.

E.g. if you wanted to build for the RAVPower RP-WD009 like I do, and add, say, LuCI and Wireguard, you'd do the following:

make PROFILE="ravpower_rp-wd009" PACKAGES="+luci +luci-app-wireguard" FILES="./files"