Set default route to WAN (not VPN) and tunnel traffic based on policies

Currently, all traffic is going through my VPN by default. I want it to go through WAN by default (I will route certain traffic through VPN based on policies). I am very new to this. Is there a simple instruction that I can follow that affects this change that all traffic goes to WAN by default? This should make my policy based routing much simpler...

1 Like

You can disregard the default route from the vpn server. Add route-noexec or route-nopull in the OpenVPN or don't route allowed IPs in Wireguard.

I don't know... Is this really something for the OpenVPN? I was thinking there should be a way to direct all internet bound traffic to WAN directly and bypass the VPN tunnel altogether and only direct certain internet traffic through the tunnel, based on policies... Am wrong?

Are wrong.

1 Like

I keep missing comments on this forum... Weird... Sorry about that... Anyway... I caught the sarcasm of "Are Wrong" as a response to my typo-ed "Am wrong?" Sorry, I tend to make a mistake every now and then. I try not to but it keeps happening for some reason....

Anyway, I tried the route-nopull (Stan suggested it too) in every which way I could think of, but adding it actually resulted in the OpenVPN instance not even wanting to start. Go Figure. I am sure I am making a mistake again, so if you can maybe tell me exactly where to put that command, it would be greatly appreciated.

At the same time I would like to ask the following:

Does every VPN server push a redirect-gateway?
I am using NordVPN and I followed their instructions to the letter in setting it up. I copied a part of the instructions below: Do these instructions not point all traffic to the VPN tunnel?
If so, then did I then not manually do that, as opposed to it being pushed by the server, and isn't this then where I need to fix it?