Serial console speed and key mappings/bindings problem (only within bootloader env)

I'm still relatively new to this so apologies if the answer is obvious, but I wanted to ask if I should be changing any settings on my serial console/usb uart device.

Issues:

1. when connected to a fritzbox 7490 via serial, I can access the bootloader fine, however Ctrl+C, and backspace keys are not working.
  2. Additionally I noticed a few other oddities where the terminal is unresponsive to input and the display sometimes misses some output on bootup , unless I detach my USB UART, then reconnect it each time before booting.

#1 above is the main reason for creating this thread.

Info Gathered:

1. I am accessing the USB UART via the screen utility with this commandline:
sudo screen -S test -L -Logfile test-$(date '+%Y%m%d-%H%M%S').txt /dev/ttyUSB0 115200
  1. I've confirmed that the factory firmware is expecting 115200 baud:
# cat /proc/cmdline 
console=ttyS0,115200n8r nor_size=0MB sflash_size=1024KB nand_size=512MB ethaddr=38:10:D5:xx:xx:xx
  1. Possible cause for Issue#1 perhaps- I noticed by chance two parameters in the eva bootenvironment settings that imply bootloader is expecting (or needs?) different serial parameters. Whats the best way to deal with this? Should I be launching a separate screen session when I need to interact with the bootloader? Can these settings typically be modified - or is that potentially dangerous to do?
modetty0              38400,n,8,1,hw
modetty1              38400,n,8,1,hw

screen should let you change the serial settings on-the-fly. ^a h as I recall to get help screen up.

Thanks @jeff , I had a hunt around but so far can't find anything to change baud speeds on the fly within screen.