Selecting a USB-TTL adapter and installing OpenWrt onto Asus TIF AX4200

Hi, a newbie here who just got this router and want to install openwrt. I want to make sure I understand everything before I do it, so hope people don't mind shedding some light on my basic questions. Thanks in advance.

The 0x46000000 part is to tell the bootloader from which position/address to boot the image from.

Just be careful with the amount of zeros.

I think any of those adapters will do fine. I choose one that has 5v, 3.3v and 1.8v output because there are some routers that can only take 1.8v.

If you don't want to solder anything then you'll need the cables end in a pin (male) as the Asus board has holes to slot them into to make the serial connection, you just have to be careful not to move any of them.

I personally use this One here

However, you can try me from what you posted as long as it works well with you.

You can check this Post here, it may be useful for you about backup

Any of these USB to UART serial bridges:

Jumper wires:

Test hook clips:

This USB programmer:

WSON8 clip to backup or reflash the chip without desoldering:

USB extension cable to connect the USB programmer:

Information:

1 Like

ch3xxx ttl adapters are bad if you use it on windows 11, works fine if you use it on Windows 10 or older and all Linux platforms.

ill probably go with CP210 or the FTDI ttl adapters if you want the best ttl to use in windows.

I always have issues with CH3xxx using it to reprogram ESP chips. all of that issue no problem with CP210.

though currently im using a esp8266 as a wifi based ttl adapter to basically access serial console of many devices that includes these kind of routers.