Save luci-statistics/collectd across reboot

It must be anyone out there that wants to save longterm stats, therefore have done this? :slight_smile:
If not, please advice

Thank you

You need to add and setup permanent storage such as a USB flash drive.

You can then configure RRDtool output plugin in luci by going to Statistics > Setup then clicking the output plugins tab. You can then just change the rrd storage directory to one on the permanent storage.

1 Like

statistics - setup - output plugins - RRDtool tab and only change "Storage directory" ?

Yes. The only things which need saving are the .rrd files.

1 Like

and modifying that in luci would effectively change /etc/config/luci_statistics ? so i can take a backup before i change stuff :>

I would guess so.

How do i make a location "world readable"? Im new to linux world :frowning:

i know the chmod etc but whats the exact command pls? to make it "world-readable"

Samba
Create a share

thats a good idea thx

sorry for doublepost, creating a share in windows with "everyone" permission would qualify as "world readable"?

I meant install samba on the router.

Then create a share on the router itself for the directory you want to be world readable.

Ok, what i read from samba was to install samba on openwrt and connect to a networkshare from my windowsmachine, which can house the rrd files, maybe thats not possible?

See also this thread which is, in essence, about the same thing (saving stats across reboots, across updates, same difference.)

I wrote a backup/restore init.d script that may help (as an alternative for external storage.)

I have a lightweight approach, where I use scripts that save/restore the stats to flash. My goal is not to guarantee a full 100% of data, but to merely be able to see developments in the long run (monthly/yearly trends), e.g. memory consumption, CPU temp, etc. (As I run both master and 19.07 in my R7800 intermittently, there are differences in the data in any case.)