RPi4B as a wired router with dumb AP for wireless access

Greetings!
Network novice here and trying to learn.

At present I have a FTTB connection with my ISP (TPG in Sydney, AU). I am currently using the ISP supplied modem router - TP-Link Archer 1600V .

I am trying to setup Openwrt on RPi 4B as a router and then connect Tablet/Phone/laptops in close proximity to the RPi through wireless as a first step. I understand the limitations of the RPi for this purpose on the long run, hence I am thinking of using USB to Ethernet adaptor (TP-Link UE300) to connect my old Netgear D6200 ( another modem+router) as a dumb wireless AccessPoint to connect home devices through this AP. The "to-be" setup would be

Internet >> TP-Link Archer 1600v >> Rpi 4B Wifi AP >> USB to Ethernet TP-Link UE300 >> Netgear D6200(in dumb AP mode)

I have installed OpenWRT on the RPi4B using community build by wulfy23 and LuCI WebUI is enabled.

Issues :
I am unable to connect to the Wifi and the LuCI interface says "wireless radio0 device not active". I am not sure if this due to a problem in my configuration or should I set up the WPA_Supplicant.conf for wireless to work? If so how should this be done?

Also I would appreciate any guidance or steps to achieve the "to-be" state as above, specifically on pointers on setting up Netgear D6200 as dumb AP, including examples of /etc/config/network, wireless configurations would be helpful.

Thank you for your time.

this is a basic AP-mode '11a' (ac) '/etc/config/wireless';

basic etc-config-wireless ac sample
config wifi-device 'radio0'
	option type 'mac80211'
	option hwmode '11a'
	option path 'platform/soc/fe300000.mmcnr/mmc_host/mmc1/mmc1:0001/mmc1:0001:1'
	option country 'AU'
	option htmode 'VHT20'
	#option cell_density '0'
	#option noscan '1'
	#option channel '36'

config wifi-iface 'default_radio0'
	option device 'radio0'
	option network 'lan'
	option mode 'ap'
	option key 'somerandomhardtoguesspassword'
	option ssid 'ap101'